Gruff Rhys has announced the release of the soundtrack to the film “The Almond & The Seahorse” out February 24th via Rough Trade, and with it the lead single, “Amen”.

1. Skyward
2. The Brain and the Body
3. People Are Pissed
4. Layer Upon Layer
5. Gruff Rhys & Victor La Masne – Orea
6. Joe’s Theme
7. Sunshine and Laughter Ever After
8. Gruff Rhys & Osian Gwynedd – Variation with Strings
9. Amen (Album Version)
10. Low Cello
11. Liberate Me From The Love Song
12. Love Love Love
13. I Want My Old Life Back
14. Forest Waltz
15. Dance All Your Shadows to Death
16. Library to Kiss
17. Staccato with Cello
18. Small Talk
19. Toni’s Theme
20. Ffenestr
21. Penbedw
22. Arogldarth
23. Amen

The video for “Amen” was directed by Ryan Owen Eddleston.

Gruff Rhys shared this about the score / soundtrack: “The soundtrack for The Almond & the Seahorse was recorded largely in pandemic conditions, so it was a matter of recording in bursts of possible activity in various friends’ studios, homes and even scout halls as chance permitted. It’s a varied quilt work as a result. As sonic flagpoles I wanted to signify the film’s location in Liverpool and the Wirral by liberally, but hopefully not too obviously, using the Mellotron synthesizer (as famously used in ‘Strawberry Fields’ by the Beatles and therefore in my mind it represents that great city sonically) and the Cello as a nod to its use by Gwen’s character in the film. I was encouraged by Mike Jones the editor to take things to a more acoustic, emotional and ragged place. That, I hope, roughly explains the trajectory of the recording and how the varied music contained in this record came about. I hope you enjoy this colorful scrapbook of a soundtrack and get a chance to watch the film.”

The film stars Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg and is directed by Celyn Jones and Tom Stern. The synopsis of the film is this: “An archaeologist and an architect fight to re-imagine a future after a traumatic brain injury leaves them adrift from the people they love.” The trailer is below.