Melts have announced the release of their debut album, “Maelstrom”, out May 13th via Mother Sky.

1. Maelstrom
2. Signal
3. Outlier
4. Circular
5. Spectral
6. Waltzer
7. Skyward
8. Tides

Their most recent single is “Waltzer”, this is what Eoin Kenny had to say about it: “The influence for the lyrics came from Rob’s organ line on the track, it has the same mechanical rhythm of a fairground waltzer. The song is set in a fairground with people and machines moving, a couple dancing, giving ground and winning ground, and a tight rope walker diving and returning to the rope. All throwing themselves into something unknown but knowing they’ll return to the same place, like a waltzer spinning.”

They’ve also released two singles before this one. The first one they shared was for the title track “Maelstrom”. This is what the band shared about the song: “‘Maelstrom’ is about a storm that sweeps through a town or a world one day and causes an irreversible change to the order of things. The song is also written from the point of view of someone caught in currents, beyond their own making and understanding and the frustrations felt by someone who feels powerless against the effects of the upheaval.”

The other single released by Melts was for “Outlier”. This is what the band shared about the track: “‘Outlier’ is about the imaginable distance between objects in space and how leaving one way of life and moving on to another life falling into space, into the void. The title refers to an object or person existing at a distance from the centre of the system.”

The band just played their first shows in the USofA at SXSW. No future dates for the the USofA (nor Tijuana) have been announced yet.