Alexis Marshall, singer for the band Daughters, has announced the release of his solo album “House Of Lull . House Of When” and with it it’s first single ‘Hounds In The Abyss’. The album will be released July 23rd via Sargent House.

Tracklist:. 01 Drink From the Oceans . Nothing Can Harm You
02 Hounds in the Abyss
03 It Just Doesn’t Feel Good Anymore
04 Youth as Religion
05 Religion as Leader
06 No Truth in the Body
07 Open Mouth
08 They Can Lie There Forever
09 Night Coming

The video for “Hounds in the Abyss” was directed by Jeremy W. The video is really good. It’s so good it could be presented as a permanent piece in a museum. It’s great to look at and uncomfortable to listen which is a very good thing. Alexis Marshall says of the video: “The long stare into the room of self—the universe’s middle distance—the many hidden doors we locate, the many rooms we find. Populated not only by whom else we are, but by places we have been. The places we are. We don’t always pull away from the hot stove.”

Via the press release from Sargent House: Produced by Seth Manchester the album is crafted around moments of spontaneity and sonic detritus. For it Marshall brought together an impressive group of collaborators to execute his vision, a vision that for the first time was under his full creative direction. Jon Syverson (Daughters), Kristin Hayter (Lingua Ignota), Evan Patterson (Jaye Jayle, Young Widows)joined Marshall in Pawtucket, Rhode Island at Machines with Magnets studio with no material. The strategy was to embrace new sounds, employ the element of chance, and capture the creative process in a song format. The genesis of a song could be anything—a fragmented piano line, a drum pattern—but the impetus was often a non-musical sound. Marshall sourced a lot of his textural contributions from a hardware store all contributing to a proto-industrial rattle-and-rumble. The resulting material stands to be the boldest and exciting work of his career.

No live shows have been announced just yet in the USofA (or Tijuana).